top of page

A Woman Who Fears The Lord

Written by Christina Marlowe


A Woman Who Fears The Lord


From a young age I wrestled with what I would describe as “irrational fears.”


I would think through every possible scenario that could go wrong in a situation and

worry myself sick, even though I had no evidence that should have led to the

entertainment of these fears.


God’s word has much to say about fear and how we can be delivered from it. Yet there is

one thing in this life the Bible is abundantly clear that we should fear:

the Giver of life Himself.


In the book of Exodus, we read about two women who harbored a healthy fear of the

Lord and were richly rewarded because of it.


The power hungry Pharaoh instructed these Hebrew midwives to murder the baby boys

born to Hebrew women.


The midwives had two options:

Fear God and disobey Pharaoh or fear Pharaoh and disobey God.

“But the midwives feared God, and did not do as the king of Egypt commanded them,

but saved the male children alive. So the king of Egypt called for the midwives and said

to them, “Why have you done this thing, and saved the male children alive?” And the

midwives said to Pharaoh, “Because the Hebrew women are not like the Egyptian

women; for they are lively and give birth before the midwives come to them.” Therefore

God dealt well with the midwives, and the people multiplied and grew very mighty. And so

it was, because the midwives feared God, that He provided households for them.”

Exodus 1:17-21 NKJV


The fear of the Lord dwelling within these women brought the favor of God not only upon

them, but upon the entire nation of Israel.


In a world where God is mocked, banned and cursed, the fear of Him seems to be in

daily decline. As I write this I am convicted of the times I have walked in disobedience,

operating from a place of fearing man rather than God.


I am grateful for a faithful and forgiving Father. Each day I can choose to let Him deliver

me from the spirit of fear that comes from deep darkness and leads to despair, and

replace it with a healthy fear of Him that leads to hope, life and true freedom.


Let it start in me, Lord. Let me be a woman who fears You. And may this fear stir and

convict the hearts of those around me to return to You, to seek You with their whole

heart, and passionately pursue You all the days of their life.


“The Lord is a friend to those who fear him. He teaches them His covenant.” Psalms 25:14


Follow Christina at:

@christinammarlowe


Podcast:





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page